Police Chief

Chief Mark McDonough has served the citizens of Whitehouse since his appointment on May 15, 2012.  Chief McDonough previously served 22 years with the Bowling Green Police Division, 15 of those years in a command position.

Chief McDonough holds a Master’s degree in Criminal Justice Administration from Tiffin University.  He is a graduate of Mountain State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice Administration, holds an Associate’s Degree in Criminal Justice Technology from Owens Community College.  He is a graduate of the F.B.I. National Academy (FBINA #243), The Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command, and the Ohio Law Enforcement Foundation’s Police Executive Leadership College (PELC XXXVI) and the Certified Law Enforcement Executive (CLEE #13) courses.

Chief McDonough places a strong emphasis on education and training of the entire police department staff.  Members of the agency are required by the Ohio Peace Officer’s Training Commission to complete annual training requirements.  Most officers exceed this requirement, and many are certified instructors in a wide array of topics.  Agency supervisory and command officers are required to complete additional supervisory, management, and leadership training annually.

With a focus on community-policing, Chief McDonough and members of the agency strive to enhance the quality of life for our residents and visitors.   The membership’s goal is to make the Whitehouse Police Department a premier law enforcement agency, and the Village of Whitehouse one of the safest communities in the State of Ohio.

In keeping with our Mission Statement, we don’t “police” you, we “police” for you…and with you.—Chief McDonough

School Resource Officer

The Village of Whitehouse Police Department staffs a full time police officer as a School Resource Officer (SRO) at the Anthony Wayne Schools. Currently, Charles Kessinger serves in that position. The purpose of the School Resource Officer is to reduce crime in and around the school facilities and to gain positive relationships with our youth, by providing a highly visible presence during school and extracurricular activities. School administrators benefit from the SRO’s training, knowledge and experience in handling situations involving possible weapon violations or the identification of controlled substances. In addition, she provides a service to the community by addressing concerns such as loitering, speeding or loud car radios.

The Officer is stationed at the High School, but is available to all schools within the Anthony Wayne district.

SROs are responsible for investigating violations of criminal law and, when appropriate, making arrests. Their sworn duty to enforce the law does not contradict the need to be a positive role model — it in fact supports it. It is essential for a SRO to endorse high moral standards and use good judgment and discretion. Through this, students learn and understand what a professional police officer does.

Over the years, the SRO has developed strong relationships with the students and after graduation many continue to go out of their way to say “hi” to them and fill them in on their continuing education, occupations, etc.

This program has proven to benefit our community and the lives of today’s students.  If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact the School Resource Officer at 419-877-9191 or ckessinger@whitehouseoh.gov or at the AW School Administration offices at 419-877-5377.

Police Staff

For all emergencies, dial 911.

The Police Department is dispatched by the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office Communications Center.  To report a crime or to file a police report, please call 419-243-5111.
To contact Police Administration or individual officers, please call the Safety Office Assistant, Monday – Friday, from 9:00am – 2:00pm, at 419-877-9191

Police Officers

Mark McDonough Chief of Police mmcdonough@whitehouseoh.gov
Allan Baer Deputy Chief abaer@whitehouseoh.gov
Brad Baker Sergeant bbaker@whitehouseoh.gov
Amanda Bradley Sergeant abradley@whitehouseoh.gov
Charles Kessinger, Jr. Corporal, SRO ckessinger@whitehouseoh.gov
Kyle McClanahan Corporal kmcclanahan@whitehouseoh.gov
Tyler DeWitt Police Officer tdewitt@whitehouseoh.gov
Christine Fouty Police Officer cfouty@whitehouseoh.gov
Andy Kasack Police Officer akasack@whitehouseoh.gov
Devin Lafferty Police Officer dlafferty@whitehouseoh.gov
Edward Marckel Police Officer emarckel@whitehouseoh.gov
Christopher Pearcy Police Officer cpearcy@whitehouseoh.gov
Kenneth Scheuerman Police Officer kscheuerman@whitehouseoh.gov
Ron Shellhammer Property Officer rshellhammer@whitehouseoh.gov
Cindy Bergfeld Safety Office Assistant cbergfeld@whitehouseoh.gov